Making Bath Cupcakes

This was my first attempt at making Bath Cakes, I chose to make Chocolate and Vanilla Scented.

Ingredients:

Bicarbonate of Soda
Citric Acid
Sweet Almond Oil
Shea Butter
Cocoa Powder
Fragrance Oil
Essential Oil
Chocolate Drops
Ground Vanilla

First I made a basic Bath Bomb mix using all the dry ingredients. I made sure to use a sieve to get rid of any lumps, then wearing gloves used my hands to mix them all together.

Next I melted the Shea Butter in a microwave for 30 secs on low. Halving the mixture I combined one half with the Almond Oil, Fragrance Oil & Essential Oil. The other I whipped with Citric Acid, Bicarbonate of Soda, Almond Oil & Essential Oil until it started to harden.

I added the first half to the dry ingredients & still wearing gloves I used my hands to mix it together, rubbing the mixture in between my fingers until it started to stick together.

I lined a cupcake tray with cases then pushed the Bath Bomb mixture into them. I then spooned the Shea Butter topping onto it before grinding the Vanilla and adding Chocolate Drops.

How did they turn out?

When I used them they smelled gorgeous as they fizzed in the bath but the fragrance didn’t last as long as I would like.. My skin was super soft afterwards and there were beads of oil left on my skin when I got out of the bath.

There was a residue in the bath from all the oils and butters used which made it a little slippery..

What would I change?

I think next time I will add more Fragrance Oil.. I think I could make them look better as well… So next time I am going to attempt to pipe the Shea Butter mix..

What’s next?

I have lots of idea’s and fragrances I want to try out.. next attempt is Marzipan Bath Melts, Lavender and Tea Tree Bath Bombs and more Chocolate Bath Cakes šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

